Good Luck Chinese

I was going to visit the Venezuelan arepas restaurant “El Chamo” again, but on my walk there, I passed by the “Good Luck” Chinese restaurant and thought it would be a good opportunity to finally check it out. I am glad I did because it’s definitely getting added to my roster of good Chinese places around here. It’s located on 48th ave near 46th street.

Good Luck Chinese

Good Luck Chinese

It’s meant for take-out, but the restaurant is actually quite spacious inside. It also looked remarkably clean. The large menu includes a bit of Hispanic food in addition to the Chinese. And in contract to the giant tubs of MSG which I witnessed at Empire Schechuan Garden, all I saw here were big containers of soy sauce.

Spring Roll

Spring Roll

I should have cut this spring roll open before taking a picture. For around $1.25 each, there is a variety of rolls available. The spring roll was unremarkable, but not bad. Another customer ordered a different roll, and the cooked it for him to-order! (He wanted it only slightly fried, still cold on the inside, and with ketchup).

Kung Pao Chicken

Kung Pao Chicken

Most dishes are available in pint and quart sizes. This was just a quart ($5.50) of Kung Pao chicken, but it seemed huge. I was very happily surprised when I opened up this container. Sometimes a dish like this will consist only of the rice and chicken itself. But here there was plenty of other things, including tasty vegetables and an excessive amount of peanuts. And it all tasted very good, although I was expecting the chicken to be spicy (it’s marked as such on the menu), but it was only very mildly so.

 

 

Leave a Reply

