Mario’s Italian Restaurant

Hidden on the corner of 47th ave and 43rd st is one of the few non-pizza Italian restaurants in the area: Mario’s. It’s been around since the mid-80s, and I would consider it a “semi-fancy” place.

Mario's Italian Restaurant

Mario's Italian Restaurant

Mario’s is probably unnoticed by visitors to Sunnyside as it’s not on any of the major thoroughfares. It must do well though, since it’s still around after 25 years. The seating area is not large, but it’s not tiny either, and features mainly 2-person and 4-person tables.

Complimentary bread and a (non-complimentary) martini

Complimentary bread and a (non-complimentary) martini

The bread was complimentary, but the sour-apple martini certainly was not ($10). Not sure why this Italian restaurant had an extensive martini menu. It wasn’t bad, but could have done without the neon food coloring.

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

The bruschetta appetizer ($7) was pretty good, but not anything spectacular.

 

Salmon

Salmon

Entrees all come with a choice of spaghetti, roasted potatoes, or string beans (seen here in the background). The salmon ($20) was one of the day’s chef’s specials, and came loaded with capers, olives, onions, and a sauce. It was quite good, but again, not spectacular.

Chicken with asparagus

Chicken with asparagus

You can barely see the chicken ($17) from under the asparagus here. This was again one of the chef’s special, so you may not see this exact dish on your menu, but there will undoubtedly be something similar. Sorry to keep repeating myself, but the dish was once again good, but not spectacular. This restaurant is a step below really good restaurants – it’s definitely good food, but it makes you wish it was just that extra bit better.

 

12 responses to “Mario’s Italian Restaurant

  1. This restaurant just threw my 80 year old mother out on the street along with my wife and young daughter because they asked for a different table. My mother is an asthmatic and may well be in the emergency room before the evening is over. They’re nuts. Stay away!

  2. Italian cuisine has developed over the centuries. Although the country known as Italy did not unite until the 19th century, the cuisine can claim traceable roots as far back as the 4th century BCE. Through the centuries, neighbouring regions, conquerors, high-profile chefs, political upheaval and the discovery of the New World have influenced its development.

  3. Pingback: Lots of fun Valentine's Day specials in Sunnyside, Queens | Queens NYC·

  4. Thats right Rita speak ur mind n tell them like it is. it wouldnt still be there if they werent that good.Olga

  5. Pingback: Prima Sarabella | Sunnyside Food·

  6. I love Mario’s. I get bruchetta every time,
    But its not the same as the one you posted. I havent tried anything you posted actually. I only ever get their pasta dishes. Mario’s and TJs are my favorite Sunnyside restaurants.

  7. Thanks for posting your thoughts!

    I think you misinterpreted what I wrote though (and I suppose that’s my fault for not being clear), but i certainly did not mean to imply that Mario’s is “average.” It’s definitely above average, and not only the best Italian restaurant I tried so far in Sunnyside, but in this whole area in general. I did enjoy the food, and actually when I went a year ago and got a chicken parm I enjoyed it even more. You’ll note I don’t explicitly rate restaurants on this site, but I do on Yelp, and there I gave Mario’s 4 out of 5 stars. There are definitely better Italian restaurants out there, but that doesn’t mean that Mario’s is just average – it’s great. Also, just one more general note – saying that a restaurant wouldn’t survive for 25 years if it’s food wasn’t good isn’t really a valid argument – McDonald’s, for example, has been around much longer, and I don’t think most people would consider their food to be excellent :).

  8. I’m a long time customer of Mario’s restaurant. I remember the day you came in because you were taking pictures with your big camera and I was curious as to why and now I see. I was just wondering if everything was ok and not spectacular why did you both clean your plates and tell the waitress how great everything was when you are clearly saying in this article it’s just average. I’m a bit of a snooper and I am glad I snooped and was there when you were because everything you wrote is clearly not true to when you were there. I do want to say though Mario’s has excellent food and if there food was average I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t have been around for more then 25 yrs.

Leave a Reply

