Los Pollos Peruvian Food

Only a block away from Pio Pio Rico, on 46th street, there is a non-chain and more upscale Peruvian restaurant – Los Pollos. Went there for the first time ever for dinner tonight. The battery in my camera unfortunately died immediately after I took a picture of the exterior, so I apologize for the poor quality photos (which I had to take with my Droid X cellphone).

Corn seed snack

Corn seed snack

Here are some of those corn kernel things they give out as a complementary snack at most Peruvian places. I know there is a specific name for this dish, which Alex and/or Pete once told me, but I forgot (I’m a terrible food blogger)- I’ll update this post when I find out again. Unlike at Pio Pio, they don’t come with any sauce.

Sweet plantains

Sweet plantains

I was quite pleased with these $3 sweet plantains. Plenty for two people, and very tasty, although I wish they had cut them a bit thinner.

Fried rice with shrimp

Fried rice with shrimp

This blurry photograph depicts fried brown rice with shrimp ($14). It was good, but not anything special. The shrimp were large, but a bit bland. There also isn’t much mixed in with the rice – just scallions and a bit of fried eggs pretty much. I wish there were some more greens. It’s a pretty enormous dish though, and I couldn’t finish it all (but I did eat all the shrimps!)

Grilled chicken

Grilled chicken

This is the classic grilled chicken dish, and I must say the restaurant lives up to its name. This is the best plain slab of chicken I’ve eat in quite a while. Usually “grilled chicken” is a bland piece of generic white meat, but this was one was much more than that. There was a distinct smoky taste, and it was very flavorful. The large assortment of greens, including avocados, was a pleasant surprise.

8 responses to “Los Pollos Peruvian Food

  1. I always eat at Los Pollos with all my family and I have to say that the quality of the food there is the best and all the dishes are just Amazing! starting from la Jalea. The ceviche drives me crazyyyy and the way they decorate the plates are beautiful. I am a big fan of Los Pollos and all I have to say about my experience in this place is just fabolous because you are not only paying for the food but also their service is exellent!!

  2. I love this place. There’s a dish with some sort of creamcheese sauce here that is really amazing.

    Personally though, I always order jalea and the rotisserie chicken. Best Peruvian dish ever!

Leave a Reply

