TJ Asian Bistro

TJ Asian Bistro, on Skillman at 50th street, is by far the best Japanese restaurant in Sunnyside, and I would venture to say one of the best in the entire city, especially considering the price to value ratio. I went there last night in a group of 6 people to enjoy a festive post-Thanksgiving dinner.

TJ Asian Bistro

The unassuming exterior doesn’t betray what deliciousness lies inside.

Examining the menu

The extensive menu includes a large variety of special rolls, many not found anywhere else. There is also a nice assortment of sakes and beers.

Tom Yum chicken soup
Tom Yum chicken soup

TJ’s version of my soup-of-the-month: Tom Yum, here seen with chicken. I had a bite and it was quite good, but I think not spicy enough and didn’t quite have the oomph of the soup I got from I am Thai.

A spoonful of Tom Yum soup
A spoonful of Tom Yum soup

This spoonful of the soup is brimming with mushrooms and other flavorful ingredients.

Tuna tartar
Tuna tartar

A beautifully presented cylinder of tuna tartar. I personally did not try this one, but it sure looks delicious.

Some appetizer
Some appetizer

I can’t remember at the moment what this was, but as you can see, the chefs at TJ put a lot of thought and effort into the presentation.

Sushi platter
Sushi platter

Ok, done with the appetizers, so lets move onto the main sushi platters. I think that’s the “Oh Good” roll in the background.

Sushi roll
Sushi roll

Mmm….

Fantastic roll
Fantastic roll

This was my meal, consisting of the “fantastic roll”, yellowtail roll, and some tuna sashimi. The glass you see in the center is not a drink, but rather a special a special sauce for the fantastic roll. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tuna sashimi
Tuna sashimi

Here is a closeup of the tuna sashimi – my favorite raw fish. The slabs are quite generous in terms of their size.

Yellowtail roll
Yellowtail roll

Even a standard yellowtail roll is lightly garnished and nicely presented. I was also impressed with the construction of the sushi pieces themselves – tightly wrapped and correctly proportioned.

Electric roll
Electric roll

I believe this is the “electric roll”, amongst other things.

Yet another delicious roll
Yet another delicious roll
Sushi chef
Sushi chef

One of the three hardworking sushi chefs on duty during our meal.

A rose for TJ
A rose for TJ

Alex expresses his (sake-induced) love for TJ Asian Bistro.

The bill
The bill

$170 pre-tax for six people, including multiple rolls, appetizers, and lots of sake – try getting all this for that price in Manhattan!

I love TJ
I love TJ

This just about sums it up!

6 responses to “TJ Asian Bistro

  1. Pingback: Takesushi | Sunnyside Food·

  2. Pingback: Birthday dinner at TJ Asian Bistro | Sunnyside Food·

  3. Pingback: Ariyoshi | Sunnyside Food·

  4. OMG! Thank you for this blog! We moved to Sunnyside 2 years ago. We love living here but still find it hard to find new restaurants as Sunnyside is so neglected in all NYC area guides. I’m so excited to try this and other places.

Leave a Reply

